Lime Lake Cottage Owners Association

Preserving and Enhancing the Quality of Life at Lime Lake


Reprinted with permission from the Mercury Gazette, February 1, 2013 issue:

"Having been given its name by settlers from Maine, Machias was first settled around 1813.  According to the 2010 Census its population is 2,375, down 107 from the 2000 Census.  It has a total area of approximately 41 square miles with State Route 16 running through the Village.  Interestingly the Town of Machias, according to Wikipedia, 'straddles the border of the Mississippi River Drainage Basin, with waters flowing out of Lime Lake north and then west to Lake Erie and eventually the Saint Lawrence Seaway to the Atlantic Ocean.  Waters of the Ischua Creek, less than a mile south of Lime Lake, flow south toward the Allegheny River and eventually the Mississippi River and Gulf of Mexico.  The Ischua Creek flows past the south part of Machias village.'
The town is south of the Town of Yorkshire and north of the Town of Franklinville.  The towns of Farmersville and Freedom border Machias to the east, and the towns of Ashford and Ellicottville on the west. Howard Peck, according to the "History of Cattaraugus County, NY" published in 1879 was the first supervisor of Machias and an active businessman, having established a distillery and an ashery.  At about the same time in 1822, in conjunction with Alva Jefferson, he opened the first store in town at the outlet of Lime Lake.  Visitors won't find an ashery in Machias today, but can find the Cattaraugus County Museum, the Pines Healthcare and Rehabilitation Center, the New York State Police Machias barracks, several shops and restaurants, churches, and Lime Lake which is surrounded by many cottages and homes.  The town boasts of its library, the King Memorial Library, and idyllic rural view sheds."


Reprinted with permission from the Mercury Gazette, February 1, 2013 issue:

"Having been given its name by settlers from Maine, Machias was first settled around 1813.  According to the 2010 Census its population is 2,375, down 107 from the 2000 Census.  It has a total area of approximately 41 square miles with State Route 16 running through the Village.  Interestingly the Town of Machias, according to Wikipedia, 'straddles the border of the Mississippi River Drainage Basin, with waters flowing out of Lime Lake north and then west to Lake Erie and eventually the Saint Lawrence Seaway to the Atlantic Ocean.  Waters of the Ischua Creek, less than a mile south of Lime Lake, flow south toward the Allegheny River and eventually the Mississippi River and Gulf of Mexico.  The Ischua Creek flows past the south part of Machias village.'
The town is south of the Town of Yorkshire and north of the Town of Franklinville.  The towns of Farmersville and Freedom border Machias to the east, and the towns of Ashford and Ellicottville on the west. Howard Peck, according to the "History of Cattaraugus County, NY" published in 1879 was the first supervisor of Machias and an active businessman, having established a distillery and an ashery.  At about the same time in 1822, in conjunction with Alva Jefferson, he opened the first store in town at the outlet of Lime Lake.  Visitors won't find an ashery in Machias today, but can find the Cattaraugus County Museum, the Pines Healthcare and Rehabilitation Center, the New York State Police Machias barracks, several shops and restaurants, churches, and Lime Lake which is surrounded by many cottages and homes.  The town boasts of its library, the King Memorial Library, and idyllic rural view sheds."

contact us
LLCOA
P.O. BOX 481
Machias, NY   14101.
Email:
llcoa.org@gmail.com